Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Explaining e-competencies

Video Help

Duration: 2:13

Kellie McRobert, e-learning lead teacher, Nayland Primary School, explains e-competencies. The e-competencies splits e-learning into five easy chunks: e-awareness, media literacy, technological literacy, digital literacy, and informational literacy.   

The e-competencies splits e-learning, the big picture into five easy chunks and to me that is nice and manageable. The chunks are critical thinking and creative thinking. They um, they’re sort of a nice combination of understanding technology and e-learning and the things that you can do and using technology and e-learning to do things better or to do things differently.

And so, the five, the key areas of the e-competencies are: e-awareness, and that kind of runs over everything and so that’s digital citizenship and being aware of online environments and all of that sort of stuff.

And so there’s media literacy – its understanding media, modern media, I guess. So it’s looking at film and blogging and being an online twitter stream and all those sorts of things and how you can utilise that in the classroom.

Technological literacy is looking at the tools and the programmes and things you can do, so its actually using the hardware, knowing how to use the digital camera, how to use a video camera, those sorts of things.

And digital literacy is creating with what you’ve been given, so if children are, have, been doing a unit of work or something like that, and they know how to use Keynote then digital literacy is creating with Keynote and building something. So taking the information that they’ve already found and researched and developed through using some of the other e-competencies, such as information literacy, which is another one, um and then they can create with it.

Informational literacy is very much, that’s, something, nothing new to our classrooms because that’s information lit, it’s the same as you know, its just your research skills making sure that children know how to triangulate data, and cross check their references, and those sorts of things.

Yeah so they’re the five e-competencies and that, that’s a very rough break down of them.

Tags: Primary, Digital citizenship, Key competencies, Digital literacy, e-Competencies, Digital fluency